Lancaster Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
Lancaster Motorplex: Dragway

Lancaster Motorplex: Dragway

IHRA Sanctioned Drag Racing weekly

Lancaster Motorplex: Stock Cars

Lancaster Motorplex: Stock Cars

Stock Car Racing Saturday nights

Mike Leaty Triumphant in Race of Champions Return to Lancaster


Lancaster Speedway

Mike Leaty Triumphant in Race of Champions Return to Lancaster

LANCASTER, NY (June 11, 2022) … The Race of Champions Modified Series made its highly anticipated return to Lancaster Motorplex on Saturday night, and it was Mike Leaty from Williamson, NY claiming the victory in the 59-lap event. For Leaty, it was his second Race of Champions win in 2022 and third career Modified victory at Lancaster. Eldon King III from Freedom, NY won the Late Model feature for his second straight win. Rich Sharpe from Depew won the Street Stock feature. Dan Dressel from Clarence, NY won the 4 Cylinder feature.

Timmy Catalano and Andy Jankowiak brought the 24-car Race of Champions Modified Series field to the green flag for the Lancaster Motorplex 59 with Catalano showing the way over Jankowiak, with George Skora, Mike Leaty, and Austin Beers racing in the top five. Andy J would take the lead away from Catalano on lap four, just as Mike Leaty passed Skora to take over third place. Amy Catalano spun, in turn, two, to bring out the race’s first caution on lap six, erasing Jankowiak’s lead over the field. On the restart, Mike Leaty would take the second position away from Timmy Catalano as Patrick Emerling passed Skora to move into fourth place on lap nine. With Jankowiak showing the way, Emerling continued his march towards the front after passing Catalano on lap 12 to move into third place. Chuck Hossfeld moved into fifth place on lap 17 after passing Austin Beers, then “The Hotshoe” would pass Catalano on lap 19 to move into fourth place, then pressured Emerling for third place. Hossfeld then passed Emerling on lap 21 to take over third place, after starting 11th on the grid. Timmy Catalano slowed on the back straightaway to bring out the caution on lap 25. While under caution, Jankowiak spun and as a result, had to restart the race at the back of the pack, giving Mike Leaty and Chuck Hossfeld the front row. After a handful of cautions slowed the pace of the race, Patrick Emerling was able to pass Hossfeld to move into second place and Matt Hirschman moved into the top four. Hirschman After his spin on lap 24, Jankowiak was able to get back to seventh on lap 36. Leaty, Emerling, and Hirschman started to pull away from the battle of fourth place between Hossfeld and Skora, with George Skora moving into fourth on lap 38. Hirschman put pressure on Emerling for second place with ten laps remaining, as Leaty continued to lead. Jankowiak worked his way back to fourth place in the late going, as the top three pulled away from the field. Leaty would hold off Emerling and Hirschman in the closing laps to score his third career Lancaster Modified victory, his first since August of 2018.

Dave Heitzhaus would take the lead from the drop of the green flag in the Late Model feature event. With Heitzhaus leading, Sam Fullone, Joe Mancuso, Eldon King III, and Dave Whittaker raced in the top five. Eldon King battled with Mancuso and would clear Mancuso to take over third place and would pass Fullone for second on lap 13. King would take over the lead on lap 17 after passing Heitzhaus on the inside of the track. King would drive on to the victory, his second of the season and sixth career Late Model victory at Lancaster.

Kyle Schosek and Rich Sharpe were on the front row for the Street Stock feature and it was Sharpe showing the way. Dave Krawczyk would take over third place on lap three and would go after second place, Nik Welshans. Sharpe, Welshans, Krawczyk, and Brian Hoffman pulled away from Tommy Wentland. Mitch Friend brought out the race's first caution on lap 11. On the restart, Krawczyk would take second away from Nik Welshans and would go after race leader Rich Sharpe. The lead trio would pull away from the rest of the field, with Sharpe leading Krawczyk and Hoffman. Hoffman and Krawczyk made contact, allowing Sharpe to pull away.

Megan Schoelles and Dan Dressel brought the 4 Cylinders to the green flag with Dressel showing the way. After a couple of early race cautions, Dressel continued to show the way with Chris Deyoe Jr racing in second and Schoelles racing in third. Charles Palmer worked his way up through the field and entered the top three with 10 laps remaining. Palmer and David Brunka raced in third and fourth respectively over the final Dressel would go on to score the victory.

Week 2 of the Big Wheels took place during intermission with 11 young race fans taking part. Kids Aged 12 and under can sign up to participate at the main gate each race night, including next Saturday night.

Next Saturday is the Summer Bash event featuring the Sportsman, Street Stocks, and 4 Cylinders. Practice will get underway at 4 pm and racing will start at 6:30 pm.

Please stay up to date on all things Lancaster, by checking out our Facebook and Twitter page and soon, the brand-new speedway website.

Race of Champions Modified Series: MIKE LEATY, Patrick Emerling, Matt Hirschman, Andy Jankowiak, George Skora, Chuck Hossfeld, Austin Beers, Daryl Lewis Jr, Zane Zeiner, Jack Ely, Danny Knoll Jr, Timmy Catalano, Tyler Catalano, TJ Potrzebowski, Amy Catalano, Randall Richard, Paul Townsend, Alan Bookmiller, Daren Scherer, Sean Verwys, John Barber, Cameron Ruggiero, Tim Garlock, Andy Lewis
Qualifying Heats: Matt Hirschman, Mike Leaty, Patrick Emerling
Fast Time: Matt Hirschman

Late Models: ELDON KING III, Dave Heitzhaus, Sam Fullone, Joe Mancuso, Danny Knoll Jr, Bobby Weber, Dave Whittaker, Ronnie Richter, Jared Shanley
Did Not Start: Dave Russell
Qualifying Heats: Eldon King III, Dave Heitzhaus

Street Stocks: RICH SHARPE, Dave Krawczyk, Nik Welshans, Mike Dalfonso, Mark Hoch, Tim Welshans, Brian Hoffman, Lou Carbone, James Loveland, Tim Garlock, Tommy Wentland, Jason Anasiewicz, Mike Rogers, Frank Prell, Kyle Schosek, Garrett Cleversley, Will Cloutier, Mitch Friend, Russ Bulger, Bobby Blaszak
Did Not Start: Dylan Carbone, Dave Whittaker
Qualifying Heats: Tim Welshans, Dave Krawczyk, Rich Sharpe

4 Cylinders: DAN DRESSEL, Charles Palmer, David Brunka, Chris Deyoe Jr, Ryan Lent, Jon Klamut, John Byrd, Mason Offhaus, Russ Bulger Sr, Dave Evans, Ryan Hessler, Megan Schoelles, Casey Pew, Jacob Costa, Kyle Casper, Hunter McKay
Qualifying Heats: Charles Palmer, David Brunka

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News

Next Event

Army National Guard
First Out Rescue Equipment
Hooiser Tire
Nu Way Auto Parts
Speed 77
Thermal Foams
West Herr
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Monroe Extinguisher