Lancaster Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
Lancaster Motorplex: Dragway

Lancaster Motorplex: Dragway

WDRA Sanctioned Drag Racing weekly

Lancaster Motorplex: Stock Cars

Lancaster Motorplex: Stock Cars

Stock Car Racing Saturday nights

Nik Welshans Wins Tribute to Ken Heckler 51 at Lancaster Motorplex


Lancaster Speedway

Nik Welshans Wins Tribute to Ken Heckler 51 at Lancaster Motorplex

LANCASTER, N.Y. (August 17, 2023) – Nik Welshans has had a successful four day stretch at Lancaster Motorplex, as the West Seneca, NY driver picked up his second straight victory of the season in the Tribute to Ken Heckler 51 for the Budget RV Outlet of Buffalo Street Stocks at Lancaster Motorplex Thursday night. George Skora III from Eden, NY was victorious in the Monroe Extinguisher Sportsman. Chris Deyoe Jr from East Otto, NY won the Rusty Diamond Cores 4 Cylinder feature event. Ronnie Flaim from Allegany, NY was victorious in the Mighty TQ Midget feature.

Dan Dressel and Chris Barber were on the front row for the Ken “Hurricane” Heckler Memorial 51 for the Budget RV Outlet of Buffalo Street Stocks, with Dressel showing the way. Chris Handley spun on the back straightaway to bring out the caution on lap two. On the restart, Dressel would continue to lead as David Brunka would take over second place. Mark Hoch would quickly work his way through the field, as by lap six would move into the sixth position, after starting 16th on the grid. Nik Welshans would pass Brunka to move into second place on lap eight and would go after Dressel for the lead. On lap 10, Nik would make his move, and would take over the lead. Jacob Gustafson would enter the top five on lap 20 after passing Mike Dalfonso. While working lap traffic, Gustafson would pass both Hoch and Brunka to move into third place. Gustafson would take over second and would go after Welshans for the lead on lap 35. The lead duo of Welshans and Gustafson would battle for several laps, including going side-by-side for a few laps following Mark Hoch’s caution on lap 38. It took until lap 46 for Gustafson to take over the lead, but the lead would be short lived, as Gustafson spun on the back straightaway, giving the lead back to Nik Welshans. The final five laps would see Welshans hold off the field to score the feature win.

Jeff Szafraniec and Tom MacLeod would bring the Monroe Extinguisher Sportsman to the green flag for their feature event, with MacLeod in the lead with George Skora III moving into second place. Skora would apply the pressure to MacLeod for the lead, as Tony Carbone started to reel in the lead duo. Skora would take the lead away on lap 12 after battling with MacLeod for several laps. MacLeod’s strong run would end on lap 16 as he had a tire loose on his number 4 car. The caution would come out on lap 31, as Andrew Nye spun on the front straightaway. Skora would hold off the late advances of Alan Bookmiller and Tony Carbone to score the feature win.

Vinnie Christiano Jr and Nick Groff were on the front row for the Mighty TQ Midget feature event, with Christiano showing the way. Ronnie Flaim would take the lead away on lap two. Dave Wollaber and Kyle Hutchinson battled with Flaim for the lead for several laps following a lap five restart. Hutchinson would take over second from Wollaber and would go after Flaim for the lead. Flaim would hold off Hutchinson to score his second career Lancaster victory.

Andy Danielwicz and John Byrd were on the front row for the Rusty Diamond Cores 4 Cylinders, with Danielwicz in the lead ahead of Wyatt Hannon. Chris Deyoe Jr would challenge Danielwicz and would take the lead away on lap six and would hold off Josh Schosek in the closing laps to score the feature win. Mason Hanel would finish in third place and was followed closely by Andy Danielwicz, and Wyatt Hannon.

Stock car racing action continues at Lancaster on Saturday, September 9 for Season Championship Night for the Monroe Extinguisher Sportsman, Budget RV Outlet of Buffalo Street Stocks, and the Rusty Diamond Cores 4 Cylinders. Also, on tap will be the King Wolf Productions Big Wheels! Kids aged 3-12 can sign up at the picnic tables in the main concourse when gates open and race during intermission and can participate in the Kids Korner Craft hosted by the 50/50 ticket sellers. Pit gates will open at 2:45pm, grandstands open at 4pm, and racing will begin at 6:30pm sharp.

For more information, follow Lancaster Motorplex on social media and visit the website at

Monroe Extinguisher Sportsman: GEORGE SKORA III, Alan Bookmiller, Tony Carbone, John Barber, Jeff Szafraniec, Tim Nies, Andrew Nye, Chris Ridsdale, Rich Littlefield, David Kozlowski, Chris Pennell, Paul Townsend, Tim Garlock, Tom MacLeod, Scott Wylie
Did Not Start: Shawn Nye, Jake Vernon, Joe Evans
Qualifying Heats: Tom MacLeod, Shawn Nye

Budget RV Outlet of Buffalo Street Stocks: NIK WELSHANS, Mark Hoch, David Brunka, Chris Barber, Jacob Gustafson, Dan Dressel, Mike Piccirilli, Tommy Wentland, Jason Anasiewicz, Kyle Schosek, Garett Cleversley, Jim Loffredo, Dylan Carbone, Keith Flanigan, David Johnson, Gary Bartella, Tim Welshans, Marty Kling, Nathan Bryant, Jerry Kosmowski, Mike Dalfonso, Mitch Friend, Alex Bialkowski, Bob Palmer, Mike Rogers, Chris Handley, Rick Meyers
Did Not Start: Dustin Novoa
Qualifying Heats: Mark Hoch, Nik Welshans, David Johnson, Keith Flanigan

Rusty Diamond Cores 4 Cylinders: CHRIS DEYOE JR, Josh Schosek, Mason Hanel, Andy Danielwicz, Wyatt Hannon, John Byrd, Connor Kurdziel, Jim Dunkleman Jr, Eric Szychowski, Hunter McKay
Qualifying Heats: Chris Deyoe Jr, Josh Schosek

Mighty TQ Midgets: RONNIE FLAIM, Kyle Hutchinson, Andrew Nye, Dave Wollaber, Nick Groff, Erik Musto, Brendan Wallace, Vinnie Christiano Jr, Kevin Wilson, Cooper Fritz, Carl Schroeder
Qualifying Heats: Nick Groff, Vinnie Christiano Jr

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News

Next Event

Buy Tickets!
Army National Guard
First Out Rescue Equipment
Hooiser Tire
Nu Way Auto Parts
Speed 77
Thermal Foams
West Herr
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Monroe Extinguisher