Lancaster Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
Lancaster Motorplex: Dragway

Lancaster Motorplex: Dragway

WDRA Sanctioned Drag Racing weekly

Lancaster Motorplex: Stock Cars

Lancaster Motorplex: Stock Cars

Stock Car Racing Saturday nights

Lancaster Motorplex Celebrates 2023 Stock Car Season at Awards Banquet


Lancaster Speedway

Lancaster Motorplex Celebrates 2023 Stock Car Season at Awards Banquet

LANCASTER, N.Y. (December 2, 2023) – Lancaster Motorplex celebrated the 64th season of stock car racing on Saturday night at the annual Awards Banquet held at the Lancaster Elks Lodge.

Tony Carbone from West Seneca, NY continued the family legacy and was crowned the Monroe Extinguisher Sportsman track champion. Carbone earned one victory and had solid finishes throughout the season to earn the elusive first track championship. Other drivers that visited victory lane this season includes Andy Jankowiak, George Skora III, Trevor Catalano, Tommy Catalano, Jake Lutz, and Shawn Nye. Chris Pennell was the division’s Rookie of the Year, while Jeff Szafraniec was named Most Improved Driver.

Mark Hoch from West Seneca, NY won his second straight Street Stock track championship. Hoch won four times en route to the divisional crown. Nik Welshans, Jacob Gustafson, Tim Welshans, David Brunka, and Mike Dalfonso all found victory lane. Mike Dalfonso was the divisions’ Most Improved Driver, while David Brunka was named Rookie of the Year. Garret Cleversley was the recipient of the Hard Luck Award.

Chris Deyoe Jr from East Otto, NY won the 4 Cylinder track championship behind three victories during the season. Andy Danielwicz, John Byrd, Josh Schosek, Hunter McKay, and Russ Bulger Jr all visited victory lane. Hunter McKay was the recipient of the Hard Luck Award. Wyatt Hannon was named Rookie of the Year, and Andy Danielwicz was named Most Improved Driver.

Dave Wollaber from North Tonawanda, NY won another track championship for the Mighty TQ Midgets. Wollaber used consistent finishes and two wins to earn the title. Ronnie Flaim, Dave Schulz, Kyle Hutchinson, Andy Jankowiak, and Andrew Nye also won feature races this past season. Cory Grenzy was the division’s Rookie of the Year and Brenden Wallace was the TQ Midgets Most Improved Driver.

The Dedication to Racing Award was presented to track photographer Howard Boundy. The 50/50 ticket sellers of Jim & Carol Nowinski, Loretta Troester, Diana Pennell, Sienna Gronowski, Sandy Bozcar won the Contribution to Lancaster Award.

The 65th season of racing at Lancaster Motorplex is shaping up to be one of the most exciting seasons in the history of the facility. Lancaster Motorplex hopes that the 2024 schedule will be just like the track’s slogan; “Old Traditions, New Memories”. The 2024 season will kick off with the Registration Party on Saturday, March 16. On track activities will begin on Saturday, April 27th with an Open Practice session open to all competitors. Opening Day will take place on May 4. Special events coming include the Must See Racing Sprint Cars on June 1, the 350 SMAC Supermodifieds on June 15, Race of Champions Modified events on June 27 and August 17, the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour on August 3, New York Super Stock Series races on May 4, July 20, and the 36th US Open Weekend September 27-28. The full schedule is available online at

For more information, follow Lancaster Motorplex on social media and visit the website at

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News

Next Event

Buy Tickets!
Army National Guard
First Out Rescue Equipment
Hooiser Tire
Nu Way Auto Parts
Speed 77
Thermal Foams
West Herr
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Monroe Extinguisher