Lancaster Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
Lancaster Motorplex: Dragway

Lancaster Motorplex: Dragway

WDRA Sanctioned Drag Racing weekly

Lancaster Motorplex: Stock Cars

Lancaster Motorplex: Stock Cars

Stock Car Racing Saturday nights

Bobby Santos III Wins Must-See Racing Sprints Debut at Lancaster Motorplex


Lancaster Speedway

Bobby Santos III Wins Must-See Racing Sprints Debut at Lancaster Motorplex

LANCASTER, N.Y. (June 1, 2024) – Former NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Champion Bobby Santos III from Franklin, MA won the inaugural visit from the Must-See Racing Sprint Cars at Lancaster Motorplex on Saturday night. Andy Jankowiak from Tonawanda, NY won the Insinger Performance/VP Racing Fuels Sportsman main event. Dustin Novoa from Springville, NY won his first career Monroe Extinguisher Street Stock feature event. Dave Milbrand from Clarence, NY won the Rusty Diamond Cores Pro 4 feature event.

Bobby Komisarski and Kevin Mingus led the Must-See Racing Sprint Cars to the green flag for their 30-lap event, with Komisarski in the lead ahead of Mingus and Bobby Santos. Santos would reel in Komisarski, as Davey Hamilton Jr took over third place from Mingus. Aaron Willison would take over fourth place on lap three from Mingus, as Komisarski, Santos, and Hamilton pulled away from the balance of the field. The first caution of the event would fly on lap 15 as Mingus slowed in turn two. Bobby Santos would take the lead away from Komisarski on lap 17, and Willison would take over second. Willison would start to reel in Santos in the closing laps, with Willison running quicker lap times ahead of the race leader Santos. Santos would hold off Willison to score the feature win. Komisarski, Hamilton Jr, and Joe Liguori would complete the top five finishers.

Tim Garlock and Brian Schulz brought the Insinger Performance/VP Race Fuels Sportsman to the green flag for their 35-lap feature with third place starting Andy Jankowiak taking the lead after passing both Schulz and Garlock. 2022 divisional champion George Skora III would take over second, as 2021 titlist Shawn Nye, and 2023 track champion Tony Carbone racing behind Skora for third place. The Whelen lights would turn on as Cameron Ruggiero came to a stop on the back straightaway on lap 17. Yellow fever would be the theme in the second half of the race, with cautions coming out for Tim Nies who spun twice, and both Cory Grenzy and Jeff Szafraniec having contact into the Thermal Foam on the front straightaway. Jankowiak would hold off Shawn Nye and Jake Christman over the multiple restarts in the closing laps to score the victory.

Tommy Wentland and Kyle Schosek brought the Monroe Extinguisher Street Stocks to the green flag, with Wentland in the lead. Dustin Novoa would work his way through the field and would take over second from Tim Welshans on lap 10. Novoa and Wentland would battle for the lead, with Novoa taking the lead on lap 14. The caution would come out on lap 21, setting up a late-race restart. Novoa would hold off Dalfonso and Hoch to score his first career win.

Dave Milbrand and Ryan Hessler led the Rusty Diamond Cores Pro 4’s to the green flag, with Milbrand showing the way. Chris Deyoe raced in second and was followed by Jimmy Dunkleman III. Dunkleman’s strong run would come to an end on lap five as he had motor issues and pulled off into the infield. Milbrand would dominate the event, leading all 15 laps to score the victory.

Racing returns to Lancaster Motorplex on Saturday, June 15 as the 350 SMAC Supermodifieds come to town for the $10,000 to win “Mayhem at the Motorplex”. The $10,000 to-win event will be the richest purse in SMAC history and is part of the Empire State Series. Joining them will be the Insinger Performance/VP Racing Fuels Sportsman, Monroe Extinguisher Street Stocks, and the Rusty Diamond Cores Pro 4’s. Race time is at 6pm.

It was announced that the May 11th racing program of Sportsman, Street Stocks, 4 Cylinders, and CAMS Vintage Modifieds will take place on Saturday, June 22 at 6pm. Wristbands and rain checks from May 11 will be honored on June 22. Any questions are asked to call the speedway office at (716) 759-6818.

For more information, follow Lancaster Motorplex on social media and visit the website at

MUST SEE SPRINT CARS: BOBBY SANTOS III, Aaron Willison, Bobby Komisarski, Davey Hamilton Jr, Joe Liguori, John Inman, Ryan Litt, Kevon Mingus, Justin Harper, Rick Holley
Qualifying Heats: Rick Holley, Davey Hamilton Jr
Fast Time: Joe Liguori (15.253 seconds)

INSINGER PERFORMANCE/VP RACE FUELS SPORTSMAN: ANDY JANKOWIAK, Shawn Nye, Jake Christman, Andrew Nye, Tim Garlock, Mason Hanel, Tony Carbone, Brian Schulz, Tim Nies, Alan Bookmiller, AJ Emms, Rich Littlefield, Chris Pennell, George Skora III, Jeff Szafraniec, Cory Grenzy, Cameron Ruggiero Jr
Qualifying Heats: Tim Garlock, Andy Jankowiak

MONROE EXTINGUISHER STREET STOCKS: DUSTIN NOVOA, Mike Dalfonso, Mark Hoch, Kyle Schosek, Gary Bartella, Tim Welshans, Tommy Wentland, Josh Schosek, Jerry Kosmowski, Mike Piccirilli, Marty Kling, Dan Dressel, Mitch Friend, Nick Rickard, Alex Bialkowski, Mike Rogers, Chris Barber, Dave Johnson
Did Not Start: Bobby Blaszak, Nik Welshans
Qualifying Heats: Tommy Wentland, Mike Dalfonso, Kyle Schosek

RUSTY DIAMOND CORES PRO 4’s: DAVE MILBRAND, Chris Deyoe Jr, Mikey Place, Mason Russo, Ryan Hessler, Connor Kurdziel, Matt Heale, Bob Bogner, James Dunkleman III, Jim Dunkleman Jr
Qualifying Heat: Jimmy Dunkleman III

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News

Next Event

Buy Tickets!
Army National Guard
First Out Rescue Equipment
Hooiser Tire
Nu Way Auto Parts
Speed 77
Thermal Foams
West Herr
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Monroe Extinguisher